Late For Antiquity!

(do you think they’ll have started without us?)

Iuscivile

Posted by late4antiquity on August 9, 2008

Roman law, is in my mind, the most important area of inquiry to study when approaching, not only the late empire, but our modern day society. I have heard that the EU is attempting to make its system of laws more transparent, and of course are turning to codes which are of themselves basically late roman codes of law with slight emendations – no persecutions, and women are now citizens, I believe.

I would bet that they (EU) are trying to base it upon german civil code? I say this because zee Germans' law was developed by none other than Theodor Mommsen, who, in being trained as a Roman jurist in his gymnasium, was called upon to set up the modern system of laws for Germany – when was this 1848? A bit later? I think 1848 was the publication year of the Communist Manifesto? The Origin of Species is 1868 – wow really need to review my 19th century.

In any case, Germany's law is, as I understand it, very much based upon the codices of late antiquity. And of course, then there is T. Honore, who was called upon to formulate South African law as it stands now – very much based upon Roman law as well.

if your're interested in these kinds of ideas – and there are people out there (I swear!) who are – then check out http://www.iuscivile.com – it's your hub for all things roman law.

Leave a comment